A Dandy of an Apple Cake

Please forgive me for my absence lately.  Work has called me away for quite a while.  Having said that, I have a new recipe that I found and wish to pass along.

While searching for an apple cake to delight my senses, I ran across a site, http://www.southernplate.com, with precisely the cake I was looking for and remembered from my childhood.  An old favorite, I offer the Apple Dapple Cake from an authentic recipe with an exceptional twist at the end, along with my own tweaking.  If you love a moist, tender, apple-filled delight for your friends and family, this recipe is for you.  It will be among the fare I will prepare for Super Bowl Sunday between the Broncos and the Panthers this coming weekend!

 

Apple Dapple Cake

3 cups all-purpose flour

1 teaspoon good ground cinnamon

¼ teaspoon ground nutmeg

1 teaspoon kosher salt

1 teaspoon baking soda

1 cup walnuts or pecans, somewhat finely chopped

1 cup vegetable oil (or olive oil, not EVOO)

2 cups sugar

3 eggs

1 tablespoon good vanilla (yes, one tablespoon)

3 cups granny smith apples, peeled and finely chopped (1/4 inch pieces)

 

Caramel Sauce:

1 cup packed dark brown sugar

¼ cup milk

¾ cup butter

 

Preheat your oven to 350 degrees F.

 

In a bowl, sift the flour, salt, spices, and baking soda together. I follow up this step with a little whisking to distribute well.

 

In the bowl of your stand mixer, mix the oil, sugar, eggs and vanilla, beating until smooth and the sugar almost dissolved.

 

Add the flour mixture to the wet ingredients in thirds, blending slowly between additions and ensuring complete incorporation before adding the next.

 

Fold in the chopped apple and nuts, distributing well. Be gentle here….

 

Bake in a tube pan that has been oiled and floured (or completely coated with PAM baking spray that includes flour, or an equivalent product) for 1 hour. Remove the cake and set aside.

 

Now begin the sauce to pour onto the cake, which is the truly outstanding part of this recipe!

 

In a medium saucepan, melt the butter, whisk in the milk and add the brown sugar. Bring slowly to a gentle boil, stirring often. Allow to boil for 3 minutes, stirring constantly. Pour this syrup over the hot cake while still in the pan and allow the cake to cool completely. The syrup will soak into the cake.

 

The final cake will present a tender crust and slice well using a serrated bread knife. I recommend slicing thick slices (1 inch or more), and to prepare yourselves for an outstanding moist texture full of apple bits and nuts. And the brown sugar caramel sauce is an absolutely perfect compliment.

 

***I took this cake to my office, to the delight of everyone except one highly allergic to nuts. Should you make this cake for someone with the same allergy, simply omit the nuts!

 

~ by eheavenlygads on February 3, 2016.

2 Responses to “A Dandy of an Apple Cake”

  1. So very excited to see you posting again!

    I found your blog in 2014 and your recipes have become treasured favorites with my family. Can’t wait to try this one as well.

Leave a Reply

 
